Dee Day Dub – Race

RON 011 | released 20 February 2014 | “Dee Day Dub mixes dub and soul with distorted guitars and futuristic-sounding melodies – a radical contrast to the uniform rock music scene in Switzerland.” (Blick am Abend)

Since their first album “Chaos Theory” in 2010, the group Dee Day Dub has developed from a large collective into a guerrilla-type and precisely operating working band. The quartet worked on their
new songs for two years, sharpening and reducing their aesthetics to some essential features: unique, dark grooves, off-beat melodies, dirty guitar sounds and wildly intelligent lyrics. The CD “Race” features 11 partially linked songs, which the band produced with Ronin leader Nik Bärtsch. The album creates a sound that remains direct and raw despite its new depth and precision. “Urban voodoo grunge” is what co-producer Bärtsch calls the band’s music with a smirk. “This group sounds like a bunch of archaic space pirates playing to an audience of freaky creatures in some underground club on Mars”, he adds.

The band Dee Day Dub originates from a series of jam sessions under the name “Dee Day”, which drummer Singha Dee launched at Bazillus Club (Zurich, Switzerland) in 2005. Alongside bands like Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin or Jean-Paul Bourelly’s CutMotion, Dee Day Dub is yet another example of the rich groove community culture that developed over the years in the legendary Bazillus basement.

Dee Day Dub is Singha Dee on drums, Manu Baker on bass and Maze Koon on guitar. Soul princess B.D. Butler (alias Brandy Butler) molds the sound with her unmistakable and versatile voice.

Text: Kim Longin, Ronin Rhythm Records

Album produced by Singha Dee & Nik Bärtsch.
All songs and lyrics written by Dee Day Dub.
All songs published by Ronin Rhythm Productions.
Recorded at Saraswati Studios, Poland by Janek Busse.
Additional recordings at Dee Day Spacelab, Switzerland.
Mixed by Reto Muggli. Mastered by Dan Suter.
Graphic design by Ralph Sonderegger. Photo by Tabea Hüberli.
Nik Bärtsch: Additional percussion on 3, 6, 7 & 11.
Rykka: Additional vocal writing on 3 & 9.



Dee Day Dub’s “Race” is the 11th release on Ronin Rhythm Records, a platform for new, creative
groove music between new minimal, funk, progressive rock and ritual groove music.